Audio tour

Audio tourOur History

Only in English

The town of Ludlow was founded soon after 1087. Although there was probably an earlier church on the site of St Laurence’s, the building as it now exists has its origins in the reconstruction of 1199. There were a number of alterations and changes over the following centuries. In the 14th century the hexagonal south porch was added, the north aisle rebuilt, and the north and south transepts and the chancel added.

In the 15th century, mainly between 1433 and 1471, rebuilding on a massive scale, in the Perpendicular style, took place. The chancel was extended in length and height, the nave and transept walls raised in height. The tower was also built at this time, the supporting arches and four massive piers add a sense of drama to the space, the large lantern windows flooding the church with light.  

The interior was once very colourful with painted frescoes on the plaster-covered walls; the fine wooden screens enclosing the separate chapels can still be seen.

A further major reconstruction of the interior of the church took place in the mid-19th century under the architect Sir George Gilbert Scott; repair and remedial work continues to be carried out at the present day.

Tour stops

Reviews

No reviews yet

Write the first review
A minimum rating of 1 star is required.
Please fill in your name.