Audio tour

Audio tourThe Castle of Montemor-o-Novo

2 sights

  1. Audio tour Summary
  2. Audio tour Summary

    The castle of Montemor-o-Novo is, in fact, the original enclosure of the early town of Montemor-o-Novo, which the course of history has transformed into this now uninhabited area.
    It was recaptured from the moors by D. Afonso Henriques, the first king of Portugal, in the begining of the 12th century. His son, D.Sancho I, granted it its first charter in March 1203. Its walls were reconstructed in the reign of D. Dinis.
    In the 13th and 14th centuries, the town inside the walls attained great economic, demographic and religious importance, to the point of administering four urban parishes, all with their headquarters inside the castle: Sta. Maria do Bispo, Sta. Maria da Vila, S. João e S. Tiago.
    From the 16th century, the tendency for the population to abandon the castle became strong. Despite attempts to stop it, the houses were demolished and transferred to the "suburbs", the site of the present town.
    In the 18th century, the offices of the Town Council and local administration were also transferred there, and in 1758 there was little remaining inside the castle beyond the churches, the Palace of the Alcaides and the Convento da Saudação.
    The Câmara Municipal (the Town Hall) has promoted excavation work inside the enclosure, carried out by teams of archaeologists, and has porsued a study of the documents related to the history of the castle and the town over recent centuries.
    Most recently it drew up and approved the "Programme of the Restoration and Revitalisation of the Castle" which is integrated into the Plan for the Preservation and Rehabilitation of the ancient area.

  3. 1 The Guard House
  4. 2 Clock Tower and Town Gate
  5. 3 Tomb niches
  6. 4 Convent of Nossa Senhora da Saudação
  7. 5 Interpretation Centre of the Montemor-o-Novo Castle
  8. 6 Misfortune Tower and Door , Sun’s Gate or St James Gate
  9. 7 Red ovenbird’s Nest
  10. 8 Church of São João Baptista
  11. 9 Palace of the Alcaides or Royal Palace
  12. 10 Ruins of the Town Hall or Prison
  13. 11 Church of Santa Maria do Bispo
  14. 12 The Angel’s Tower and Gate
  1. Audio tour Summary

    The castle of Montemor-o-Novo is, in fact, the original enclosure of the early town of Montemor-o-Novo, which the course of history has transformed into this now uninhabited area.
    It was recaptured from the moors by D. Afonso Henriques, the first king of Portugal, in the begining of the 12th century. His son, D.Sancho I, granted it its first charter in March 1203. Its walls were reconstructed in the reign of D. Dinis.
    In the 13th and 14th centuries, the town inside the walls attained great economic, demographic and religious importance, to the point of administering four urban parishes, all with their headquarters inside the castle: Sta. Maria do Bispo, Sta. Maria da Vila, S. João e S. Tiago.
    From the 16th century, the tendency for the population to abandon the castle became strong. Despite attempts to stop it, the houses were demolished and transferred to the "suburbs", the site of the present town.
    In the 18th century, the offices of the Town Council and local administration were also transferred there, and in 1758 there was little remaining inside the castle beyond the churches, the Palace of the Alcaides and the Convento da Saudação.
    The Câmara Municipal (the Town Hall) has promoted excavation work inside the enclosure, carried out by teams of archaeologists, and has porsued a study of the documents related to the history of the castle and the town over recent centuries.
    Most recently it drew up and approved the "Programme of the Restoration and Revitalisation of the Castle" which is integrated into the Plan for the Preservation and Rehabilitation of the ancient area.

Reviews

1 review

Review this tour
A minimum rating of 1 star is required.
Please fill in your name.
  • Ana Paula

    5 out of 5 rating 03-10-2018

    Uma forma simples de conhecer a história do Castelo e Centro Histórico.